Page 1 Page 2 Page 3 Page 4 Page 5 Page 6 Page 7 Page 8 Page 9 Page 10 Page 11 Page 12 Page 13 Page 14 Page 15 Page 16 Page 17 Page 18 Page 19 Page 20 Page 21 Page 22 Page 23 Page 24 Page 25 Page 26 Page 27 Page 28 Page 29 Page 30 Page 31 Page 32 Page 33 Page 34 Page 35 Page 36 Page 37 Page 38 Page 39 Page 40 Page 41 Page 42 Page 43 Page 44 Page 45 Page 46 Page 47 Page 48 Page 49 Page 50 Page 51 Page 52 Page 53 Page 54 Page 55 Page 56 Page 57 Page 58 Page 59 Page 60 Page 61 Page 62 Page 63 Page 64 Page 65 Page 66 Page 67 Page 68 Page 69 Page 70 Page 71 Page 72 Page 73 Page 74 Page 75 Page 76 Page 77 Page 78 Page 79 Page 80 Page 81 Page 82 Page 83 Page 84 Page 85 Page 86 Page 87 Page 88 Page 89 Page 90 Page 91 Page 92 Page 93 Page 94 Page 95 Page 96 Page 97 Page 98 Page 99 Page 100 Page 101 Page 102 Page 103 Page 104 Page 105 Page 106 Page 107 Page 108 Page 109 Page 110 Page 111 Page 112 Page 113 Page 114 Page 115 Page 11615 HISTORY breathtaking mansions in downtown Beaufort, many of which still stand in the Historic District and “The Point,” the area’s most historic resi- dential enclave. B e a u f o r t was one of the first communi- ties captured by the Union when the Civil War erupted in 1861. Unionsoldierses- tablished a head- quarters in the federal-style John Mark Verdier House. Verdier, a successful merchant and plan- tation owner, had built his mansion in 1804, with wealth generated from trading indigo and farm- ing 1,000 acres of sea island cotton. TheBeaufort HistoryMuseumtraces its roots to 1939, when its constitution wasapprovedatameetingoftheoriginal board of trustees. The state of South Carolina then chartered the museum as a nonprofit organization, formed “to increase and diffuse knowledge by the maintenance of a general museum and library of art, science, history and industry; the preservation and protection of objects and places of artistic, historic or scientific interest; and by furnishing instruction and recreation.” The museum has been open to the public for most of the time since and is housed in The Arsenal, 713 Craven Street. The first meeting to draft the Ordinance of Secession is held at the Milton Maxey House (“Secession House”). On Dec. 20, South Carolina becomes the first state to withdraw from the Union. Spanish explorers first discover the Port Royal area. 1562 French Huguenots led by Jean Ribaut settle on present-day Parris Island, establishing Charlesfort. The Spanish return to Parris Island to build Santa Elena settlement. 1711 The Lords Proprietors of Carolina charter Beaufort Town. St. Helena’s is established as colonial parish of the Church of England.The church at 505 Church St., built in 1724, is among North America’s oldest active churches. 1514 1566 1712 1860 1798 The Arsenal is completed and houses the Beaufort Volunteer Artillery. (Today it’s home to the Beaufort Visitor Center.) History Timeline BritishsoldiersinterredattheParishChurchofSt.HelenafollowingtheBattleofGray’sHill The Beaufort History Museum